how much co2 swing is too much? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 06-10-2005, 03:34 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
how much co2 swing is too much?

Hi,

I have setup a 130 gallon for a week now. The Ph has been 6.5 in the morning and 7.0 at night(before I turn off the lights). Is this too much Ph swing for the fish? (I guess that depends on the fish as well but in general is it too much?)

Also, I have very hard water; 10Kh. At 6.5Ph, it looks like there is 100ppm Co2. Is this bad for the fish?

thanks
cem
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 06-10-2005, 05:06 PM

I'm no expert but most of what I have read says not to let the ph change more than .2 in a day. Your's has changed .5 in 1/2 day which seems like alot. Not saying it will kill your fish, just probably better off to reduce the gap in the ph swing.

Mike
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 06-10-2005, 05:27 PM Thread Starter

Thanks for the info.

My Ph test kit only measures in 0.5 increments. Do you know of any "precise" Ph kits?

I am not sure if I can reduce the buble rate any further. It is about 1 bubble per sec now but I am afraid if I reduce it further the needle valve may not be stable.

post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 06-10-2005, 05:28 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (9/100%)
I wouldn't worry about it unless your fishes are showing obvious signs of distress. I think we give fish way less credit than they deserve in the hardiness department. If they were as fragile as we (in the hobby) make them out to be then rivers/lakes would be full of dead fish everytime we had a major rainstorm.

Also, think about fish breeders who induce spawning by doing RO water chages that can be 10° lower in temp, all of which simulates the start of the rainy season for many types of fish.
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 06-10-2005, 05:31 PM Thread Starter