First Planted tank build - 40g Breeder - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 64 (permalink) Old 07-05-2012, 02:14 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
First Planted tank build - 40g Breeder

Hello, and welcome to my build thread. First of all let me say that I am excited to try my hand at planted tanks. I have been keeping aquariums for more than 15 years, but have not yet attempted a planted tank. I currently have three systems up and running, a 34 gallon freshwater community tank, a 90 gallon mixed reef tank, and a custom 3 gallon mixed reef tank. While I can't say that I have mastered the art of reef keeping, I have been quite successful.

This journey has now brought me to the world of planted tanks. Here I plan to share with all of you my plan for this upcoming project and hopefully benefit from the vast amount of knowledge that exists on this forum. Let's get on with it then.

The Plan:

I purchased a 40 gallon breeder tank about 2 weeks ago, at the $1 a gallon sale, to be used for this endeavor. Since that time I have been lurking on this and other sites gathering as much knowledge as possible, and have purchased what I believe to be everything I need to get started, though I plan on making more purchases in the future. Here is a list of the current things that I have now, or are on thier way to me.

- 40g breeder tank
- AquaTop CF400UV canister filter
- Pressurized Co2 system w/Milwaukee regulator and PH controler, 5# Co2 tank, and DIY inline downflow Co2 reactor.
- Glass drop checker w/4dkH solution
- Odyssea 36" quad T5 light fixture w/6500k bulbs
- 300W inline heater
- UP Aqua Soil
- Pruning scissors
- forceps
- Flourish, Flourish Excel, Flourish Iron, Flourish Potassium, Flourish Nitrogen, Flourish Phosphorus, and Flourish root tabs.