Airstone at night: who does it and for how long? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-03-2012, 09:07 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
Airstone at night: who does it and for how long?

Just like the title says, who here uses an airstone at night in their planted tank(s)? If so, for how long?

I'm thinking about doing this, but I've never used one before in a planted tank. Just looking for input.

David
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-03-2012, 09:51 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (8/100%)
Works great. Before i went overflow and wet/dry sump i ran an airstone for 11 hours at night on a timer shortly after lights went out to about 30 minutes before c02 came on in the morning. Breaks up the surface film well, and helps add oxygen for beneficial bacteria.

Sump Pimp #7

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-03-2012, 09:59 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (18/100%)
I do from lights out until leaving for work the next morning. It's the only way I would consider having nice shrimp in a high tech tank, assuming it can be done safely at all.

Snail Glades,

post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-03-2012, 10:09 PM
Banned

PTrader: (4/100%)
I do. From lights out till lights on

Sent from my HTC Evo 4G

40B - Shrimp tank

~~~
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-03-2012, 10:27 PM
OVT
Carpe Diem

PTrader: (144/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremyTR View Post
I do. From lights out till lights on
+1 same, in over-planted and or over-stocked tanks. Keeps the fish alive.
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-03-2012, 11:00 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

After switching from a HOB to a powerhead.... and losing a few neons.... I started running one at night.