New to Plants - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-24-2012, 04:46 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
New to Plants

Hello there, I thought I would join after lurking for a bit to try to figure out how to set up a new tank. I'm not new to the aquarium hobby, but I am new to planted tanks.

Recently a Fluval Spec caught my eye, and needless to say it's now sitting at home. However, I am not one to rush into things, so I thought I would figure out plants and stocking before rushing headlong into this. I thought it would be interesting to keep cherry shrimp in this tank, as I have never kept any sort of shrimp, and I thought white cloud minnows might be interesting as well.

As my first question, will I need to get a heater for the cherry shrimp? I know the minnows can thrive in lower temperatures, but what about the shrimp?

Also, how many of each species will be able to fit within this aquarium? It is a 2-gallon, but I know that both species are relatively small.
(For reference, a link to the tank http://www.amazon.com/Fluval-Desktop.../dp/B0047XMQBM

As it has been so long since I have set up a tank, how should I go about cycling it to begin with? Is there a different method when you use plants? Also, any recommendations on which plants will thrive in such a tank? I know the LED lighting that comes with the tank is not the best, but I would like it to stay stock to save costs for the time being.

Finally, can anyone recommend where to purchase plants, the minnows, cherry shrimp, and a water testing kit online. I have not had much luck looking for any healthy looking plants in local stores, so I thought I would inquire here.

My apologies for asking so much at once, but I am sure I will have more soon.

Thank you for the assistance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-24-2012, 05:10 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (31/100%)
Quote: