New Plants - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-05-2012, 10:01 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
New Plants

First of all, I am new to planted tanks. I got new plants in the mail about two weeks ago. I got ludwigia repens, dwarf sag, jungle val, riccia (floating plant), an anubias nana, and a amazon sword for my 25 gallon. How long before all the plants get growing really good? Especially the jungle val, and the dwarf sag as they both seem to be melting. How long is this acclimation period?

I have:

Eco complete mixed with regular gravel

Dosing flourish comp and flourish iron along with root tabs

two 14 watt t5 lights 10,000 and 6,700 k
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-05-2012, 10:17 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
How hard is your water? Vals do better with harder water. Also you do realize this plant can grow 3' tall? Dwarf sag can be a pain, I'm not sure you're lighting will be enough for it.
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-05-2012, 10:23 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
I go over 1 watt per gallon thats good enough from what I've been told. Especially in a low tech tank!!! And my ph is 7.5, ya thats why u trim the jungle val. I enjoy taking care of my tank so dwarf sag wont be that much of a problem!!

post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-06-2012, 03:53 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (14/100%)
Watts per gallon rule is pretty much out the window when it comes to planted tanks, it's best to go by PAR

https://www.plantedtank.net/forums/li...t5-t12-pc.html

^^^That link will explain what PAR is, and what lights are best to get the best PAR vs Distance for your lights.