newbie here pls help - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-05-2012, 12:24 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
newbie here pls help

Hi all, newbie here. I was wondering if you guys can give me some knowledge, insight, and tips for my plants/tank.

I've have a odyssea t5ho light for my 30gal long. Only using 1 39watt 10000k bulb for the bulk of the time i had it(about 3-4 weeks) Only recently i added a zoomed flora bulb. Dont not have a defined photoperiod. I'd say about 6hrs recently.

I have brown algea.

Is this algea on my anubia?

What is this called when the the leaves turn transparent?

Had this plant the longest, before I got the t5 fixture, can someone tell me what it's called? It's pretty hardy but it has brown spots on it for the longest time.

I also have baby tears and dwarf grass, and those are not doing too well either. Most disappointing is the java fern and anubias, those are new and heard they suppose to be easy to keep. I only recently been adding a cap of Excel a day consistantly. I'm also battling ich.

Any help is appreciated, thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0591.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	46.0 KB
ID:	46846  

Name:	IMG_0590.jpg
Views:	123
Size:	43.6 KB
ID:	46847  

Name:	IMG_0588.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	91.3 KB
ID:	46848  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-05-2012, 12:51 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (12/100%)
Yes, that's algae on your anubias. It looks like brown algae which goes away on its own after a while in a new tank. You can get a nerite snail or two and they will eat it. The ends of your java fern being transparent is normal in new leaves. And the unidentified plant is some kind of amazon sword.