Starting ~100 gal tank & thinking about going planted - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 50 (permalink) Old 05-03-2012, 03:45 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Starting ~100 gal tank & thinking about going planted

Hello all! My name is Tyler, and I'm a new member. I've had freshwater aquariums all of my life, but I've never had one over ~40 gallons. Currently, I have a 35 gallon tank (which I have created a profile for if anyone is interested in seeing it), which only uses plastic plants and a pebble base, so I have no experience using real plants in an aquarium.

My fiancee and I just purchased our first home, and I will be lining one wall of my downstairs office with a 90-150 gallon fresh water tank (probably at least 6' long, so it will be a more shallow tank). The tank will be in a darker part of my downstairs area (about 20 ft away from a large set of windows). Given that I enjoy the natural wood look in my current tank, I have started to look into making my new one a planted tank, but there is an overwhelming amount of information out there and I'm not sure where to start.

**As a side note, I have already considered the costs/benefits of such a large tank, and I am very prepared to take on the work that is involved... or so I think, lol.**

I have a number of questions that I'm sure you all may be able to help me with for planning this tank, but I'm sure you want to know a bit about what I'd like to accomplish before diving into the questions, so here goes:

First and foremost, I should discuss my budget. Not including the tank or base, I would like to keep the cost of filling it with plants, substrate/gravel, stone/wood centerpieces , and fish under $500 if possible. I think this is a healthy budget, but I could be proven wrong!