New to live plants! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-01-2012, 03:12 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
New to live plants!

Hi, I'm new to live plants. I've had 5 different bettas, but I've never tried live plants, always been afraid to kill them, lol.

Now I'm going to be getting a 55 gallon tank, and I want to have live plants in it! So my questions are:

Can Java Fern, Anubias Petite Nana, Wendtii Red, and Amazon Swords all grow together? What requirements do these plants have? I'm not very exprienced with anything in home aquariums other than bettas.

What can you tell me about those four plants? Are there others that would be better? It's going to be a tropical tank. The temperature is going to have to be around 75-80 degrees F at all times.

Thanks!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-01-2012, 03:23 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (14/100%)
Those are good starter plants since they don't need high light. You can use sand, gravel, or a nutrient rich substrate. The crypt and sword are heavy root feeders so root tabs in an inert substrate like gravel or sand is a plus. The java fern and anubias feed more out of the water column.

-Mike
Mini-M Journal:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mini-M Journal 2:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-01-2012, 03:24 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (35/100%)