Does uv light kill brown algae? - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 2 Post By Gad

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-02-2012, 10:45 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
Does uv light kill brown algae?

Tanks been running 2 weeks,just starting to get brown algae on rocks,Anubis,and glass.I know the uv will kill all green,but what about brown.

I know it wont kill whats on stuff,but will it stop it from getting worse?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-02-2012, 10:50 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (4/100%)
I'm pretty new to this but have had this also. I was told it's a diatom that's common in "new" tanks that aren't cycled or newly cycled. Once the tank fully cycles, I was told, it'll go away
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-02-2012, 10:56 PM
Discus freak

PTrader: (14/94%)
Diatoms, that stuff can get annoying... It does go away on it's own but I'm to impatient for that so I just buy Otto's and plecos to take care of that.. It's like candy for them

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-02-2012, 11:04 PM
Planted Tank Guru

Diatoms live on the silica that is in the water from the glass and the substrate (especially sand).
If you remove the diatoms from the tank, and vacuum the Pleco poop you are removing the silica from the tank.
Many Loricariads (Otos, Plecos and their relatives) will eat diatoms, but they poop out the silica.
If you allow the diatoms to decompose in the tank or filter the silica is available to make more diatoms.