General Help - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-02-2012, 01:02 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
General Help

Hi every one, i will be setting up a 12 x 12 x 12 (inch) cube planted tank, the tank will have an 18W T5 HO over it and I will be using DIY C02 and an external canister filter. Lilly pipes, Glass C02 defuser, and glass C02 checker (the one with coloured 4DKH solution that lets you know if you haev the right amount of C02.

I have been doing plenty of reading and im new to planted tanks so was really after a few general pointers and tips. So sorry for the noob questions.

Substrate wise I was probably going to use about a 3 inch bed of either ADA aqua soil powder Amazon or flourite black. I have read that the ADA can cause an ammonia spike so I won’t be adding fish for a couple of week or so (this filter will already be cycled as I will be taking the media out of an established filter). Which would you say would be best for me the ADA or Flourite? Or both? Using the flourite and then an ADA powder cap for the carpet?

The DIY C02 im fairly fine with I think, run it all the time and sling it and make a fresh batch every 2 weeks. The recipe im using uses a pinch of Bi Carb so assume that will just buffer the KH a little to help stop PH swings? The bit I do need a pointer on is this, I’ve always thought that having good surface movement was good to keep the water airiated and to help with keeping surface scum at bay. But does this not deplete the C02 out of the water? How much movement on the surface do I need? Which brings me on to my next question – How much flow would I need? The filter I am getting turns out 160LPH (supposedly) the tank when full will probably be around 17L of actual water (after the displacement)... giving it just under 10 x turn over, is this sufficient?