Do i need co2 also a few general questions - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-01-2012, 07:06 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Do i need co2 also a few general questions

Hi all i have been posting many questions lately about my fluval ebi, i havnt got it set up yet because was wanting co2 setup and been enquiring about a regulator but i think i might leave co2 for now as i am new to this,the light with the ebi is 11w fluval compact light, do you think i would need co2 or would it be ok dosing with flourish excell or some other addatives, the plants i defently want are hygrophila cormbosa, moss balls , glossostigma elatinodes as a carpet plant and not sure what else, would this be okwithout co2 and also was thinking of getting external filter would people suggest fluval or enheim ? also someone mentioned getting from overseas in euros and saving 30 % anyone know any good sites and would the light be sufficient and what size heater ? i have a 50w for my small fluval spec at 7.5l due to cold north weather lol

thanks Dean
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-01-2012, 07:18 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (14/100%)
No, you do not need co2 since the Ebi is so small dosing with Excel is fine, you should also dose with other ferts too, like flourish, potassium, etc.... to give the plants a broad range of nutrients they'll need.

As for a heater, I have a 6 gallon Fluval Edge, and I run a 50w heater for it with no problems.

As for the light, I use a 2 Finnex Clip Lights w/ 6700k bulbs in each, and my plants grow like crazy with them.

15g Fluval Flex - Will be a planted shrimp tank
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-01-2012, 08:17 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

when people say flourish i thought they ment flourish excell lol what ferts should i does with then ?
1,flourish excell
2, potassium (what brand)