Emersed growth, Cycle and filter? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-28-2012, 04:07 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (13/100%)
Emersed growth, Cycle and filter?

Forgive me if this is a stupid question but its bugging me this morning.

I am currently starting out my 75 gal emersed to get some UG started. To my understanding the tank will go through most of its cycle in this method.

My filter is a ehiem pro 3 160, just chilling dry under the stand.

My question is this. Should I fill the filter with water to let the bacteria begin to form on the biomedia or is this unnecessary?

Will the bacteria even form without a food source or does the biomedia act as the food source?

Sorry, I have never done the emersed method before let alone freshwater.

Canon Pimp Club #019

"I have all the characteristics of a human being: blood, flesh, skin, hair; but not a single, clear, identifiable emotion, except for greed and disgust. Something horrible is happening inside of me and I don't know why. My nightly bloodlust has overflown into my days. I feel lethal, on the verge of frenzy. I think my mask of sanity is about to slip"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
E
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-28-2012, 04:27 PM
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
I don't think you should fill the filter yet. I'm currently doing a dry start as well, and would like others to chime in on this.

However, I would assume when it's time to fill your tank, you would set up the filter as normal. I plan to add some biomedia from another tank to the new filter, and then test the tank every few days.

post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-28-2012, 05:05 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)