Fluval Edge help - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-24-2012, 02:59 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question Fluval Edge help

Hello,
This is my first time posting on a forum! I was hoping to get some experienced advice on my Fluval edge. I'll start with what I want to do. I really want to do some natural rocks that I have collected from my yard/woods and boiled to sanitize them with the flourite black substrate I have. Then I want to put baby tears in to do a carpet plus dwarf hair grass around the rocks. This Is for my blue crown tail betta and his zebra nerite snail friend. My concern is that everything I read says with out proper lighting baby tear doesn't thrive. I've already replaced the stock halogen lights in the edge with mr11 LED so I just have the two mr11 right now. Will I need more lighting then this? and if so what could I use? I've read that you need at least 2.5 watts per gallon but does that change if the tank is shallow like the edge? I also am planning to set up a DIY co2 systen with a nano glass co2 diffuser from amazon. and suppliment with seachem flourish once a week so not to risk killing the snail with the minute copper that's in the flourish I think it's like 0.0001. I am very open to ideas but please remember I'm on a budget lol
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-24-2012, 03:08 PM
Planted Member

PTrader: (16/100%)
Hi Daisy

I have an Edge as well, I made the same lighting upgrades that you just mentioned. In my opinion you will definitely need more light to get the baby tears to carpet or even thrive. I have had Dwarf Hair Grass in my Edge, I planted in tiny little plugs all over the place, I found that the lighting was not enough for it to thrive either. It grew very very slowly and in the 2-3 months that I had it, it never spread, just the little plugs reached for the light.