New high tech tank issues - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-16-2012, 03:57 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (0/0%)
New high tech tank issues

I am a palud man but a complete newbie when it comes to planted tanks. I do have many hours of reading and lurking on these forums, but very little hands on wisdom.

I recently set up a high tech 20g with the following specs:

Eheim 2213
48 watts of T5 HO (8.5 hour photo period)
Pressurized CO2 (1 bubble every 2 seconds) Drop checker on its way
CO2 comes on 1 hour before photo period
EI ferts
1 inch river rock topped with 2-3 inches inert Caribsea (2mm) substrate rock.

Initial Water Chemistry
GH 8 KH 9 pH 7.8 77 degrees 0 phosphates, 0 nitrates

I had $180 of plants shipped overnight to my place in Alaska (ridiculous shipping of course) once I had everything in place. I used mulum from my first 10g planted tank and some substrate to get the cycle started.

Received the plants a little bit late in the day without heat packs like I requested. The plants were fairly cold to the touch so I tried to acclimate them in tepid water before planting. I did this for only an hour or so. I planted heavily 4 days ago and the "melting" if thats what it is is severe.

I had a great deal of left over plants so I set up a low tech 20g tank for the left overs. This tank used my entire substrate and filter from my 10g so the cycle should be almost immediate (??). At any rate, the same species without any CO2 and only cheezy light are not melting hardly at all.

PLease advise..........fearful my investment is going to crumble.

Vals are turning brown up top and whitish at the bottom.
Chain swords are turning brown leaves and looking horrible.
Ludwiga r. is dropping leaves like theres no tomorrow (not discolored)
Dwarf sag leaves turning white and disappearing
Crypts unharmed

Last edited by Learner; 11-27-2012 at 06:22 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement