Need help with first "large" tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-11-2012, 12:47 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (8/100%)
Need help with first "large" tank

I am pretty new to this hobby so please excuse my lack of knowledge.
I want to design a tank and actually think it through this time
The tanks I have: 2.5 gallon desk tank and Low-tech 10 gallon planted.

I am really excited to get a yellow shrimp colony started in my 10 gallon but want to design this next tank towards invertebrates.

Specifications for tank:
-area to put it: 78x23" space against wall next to 60x60" window
-primary livestock: Yellow shrimp, other dwarf shrimp/ inverts, algae eating fish
-secondary livestock: neon tetras?, Bamboo shrimp
-Size of tank?: L=36+ W=12+ H=18+
-Plants: carpet plants and mostly medium height plants
Extra: I will use DIY Co2 and hopefully upgrade to dry ferts.

I will probably buy the tank off of craigslist but I want to keep this cost as low as possible. I am looking at 35 gallons but will getting a bigger tank (like 50) dramatically increase the price of the setup?
Plants and livestock I will add in over time but I need to know what filter, substrate, and lighting would be best for the tank. Especially lighting though, if you could suggest lights and what carpet plants they can grow that would be great.

Any other suggestions would be great. I am sorry for asking so much but no matter how many threads I have read I still can't figure out what would be best.
Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-11-2012, 12:55 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (17/100%)