please help - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-27-2005, 02:41 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
please help

hey i have a 55 gallon fresh water tank with about 8 plants mostly swords and alot of moss...for gravel i use sand and tiny rocks and i also have a big peice of drift wood..my tank contains 4 angel fish and 2 graumis male and female.. my plants arent doing very well at all...i herd people talk about clay and using co2..i know nothing of how to set any of this up...if you can give me direction of how to help my plants grow please tell me.if u can tell me so i will understand i am very new to this.ive only had the tank for about 2 yrs. keep in mind i dont have to much money to spend i only work part time and go to school full time..

i would like to know what kind of lighting i should use
what i can put in the gravel
what kind of filter
what temp for the heater
if i should use co2 or anything else like that
is there any kind of liquid i can put in the water?
ph?
any additives?

sorry i am new to all this..if you can give me complete detail on how to set it all up too i would appreciate it..
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-27-2005, 03:12 AM
Wannabe Guru

Hi David.

For starters I would suggest heading to rexgrigg.com for a good overview of planted tank basics.

I suspect your current lack of success with plants is due to insufficient lighting. Most commercially available canopies don't provide nearly enough lighting. You will need about 110 watts over your tank to provide 2 watts per gallon, which is probably the minimum to grow plants. You may be able to grow some plants under this amount of light, but you have to choose them carefully. There is a plant gallery here, as well as one at plantgeek.net which lets you know if a plant is difficult or requires high light levels.

Temperature, aim for 76.