my new/switchover tank (need guidance) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-05-2011, 07:07 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (2/100%)
my new/switchover tank (need guidance)

Here's my situation. I'm a teacher and I have a 20 gallon High tank in my classroom that I've had a few fish in over the years so it's been set up for a while. I love the idea of having a planted tank so I'm in the process of switching it over. I thought it would be best to start this build thread of sorts to ask questions along the way instead of asking a million others or searching for stuff that doesn't exactly fit my situation. I love the search feature and use it a lot but I'm a little neurotic about making sure it applies to what I have going on.

Anyways, along the way of switching it over, I've slowly added a few plants that my lfs said would be okay with low light. Not to be one to want to hold back I want to expand my options. I've set up a diy yeast CO2 set up that seems to be working really well. My lights are pretty crazy right now as I'm trying to up my watts per gallon to compensate for having C02 (I hope I've understood this right.) I have three fixtures over a 20H!!! I have two normal freshwater fixtures with 15w bulbs (one is GE aquarays and the other is an eclipse daylight bulb). In addition to this I have a corallife t5 fixture leftover from a nano reef tank. It has two t5 Normal Output bulbs in them that are used up and need to be replaced. They are currently running actinic and 10000K bulbs. I ordered two GE 6500 bulbs to replace these and they're on the way. I'd like to replace the other two generic fixtures with another similar coral life NOT5 fixture in the future.