For people with MTS, how many have downsized? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-28-2011, 12:49 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (1/100%)
Send a message via AIM to talontsiawd
For people with MTS, how many have downsized?

MTS=Multiple Tank Syndrome.

Right now, I have 4 tanks. I pretty much live at my girlfriend's house, we don't officially live together but I am there more than my house. I still live at my parents as I am a musician an my recording studio is here.

I have had a 29 gallon from the beginning. I always like "garden style" tanks, because of the variety of colors in plants. I had great luck with my 29 when it was my only tank, and before my life got too hectic to keep up. So my 29 has all the fancy stuff (co2, auto dosing, canister, high light, etc). However, it is the hardest to maintain and gets neglected. I started to enjoy "natural" style tanks so I added one. Then my girlfriend wanted a tank, then when we lived closer, we bought another.

I have 2 problems. I like two styles of tanks that you can't easily use the same plants for, I am doing a dutch and a natural style at my house. My girlfriend is a bit less patient than me so at her house, we just have "jungle tanks", one loosely "dutch inspired", one loosely "iwagumi" inspired.

For me to have both styles done to my liking, I need at least 2 tanks that are allowed to look ugly at some point. On the flip side, my other problem is I don't have enough time to maintain a high tech tank with a lot of variables like the dutch tank I am trying to do at my place. Some of it is skill, some of it is equipment that I cannot afford at the moment. I need a better light fixture for one tank, and CO2 (or low light) for another.