Hi guys... - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 11-22-2011, 08:27 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Hi guys...

Hello everyone. Ive just recently got a new tank after being wothout for about 5 years... Im not a total beginner, but this is my first serious attempt at a 'proper' planted tank, whatever that means lol. I decided on a Juwel Lido 120 which works out at 26.5 gallons (31.5 US) Its been up and running for a couple of weeks now. Im sticking with the supplied internal filter, although I may add an external later. Initially I was going to stick with the supplied lighting which was 2 24w T5's, but have upgraded (it arrived today ) to a shiny new 4 24w T5 luminaire type thing. It came with 2 10000k white tubes and 2 that were described as 'red growth tubes' My first real question is what light tubes will be best for me to use? Are the supplied good enough? There seems to be alot of conflicting info online and some personal experience would be appreciated. Im dosing CO2 with the waterplant system, which is pretty much the same as the fluval 88,, working from a small disposable cylinder. I have it running at approx 20 bubbles per minute. Does that sound about right? Ive ordered one of those test dealys that stays in the tank so ill soon be able to measure the amount. But like I said my main concern is the lighting and which tubes i should be using. Thanks alot guys
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 11-23-2011, 02:57 AM
Planted Tank Obsessed

Hey there, welcome to TPT and your new obsession :p