New CO2 system - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-11-2005, 06:04 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
New CO2 system

I have a 55 gallon, now is finally very well planted I have a layer of laterite and weekly I put some liquid micronutrients, iron and K, I have a 2,5 G/w light system. I have been using the yeast co2 system for a few months until past week when the co2 decided not to work anymore so the PH went up and my fish start dieing.
Yesterday I lost my dear Colisa Lalia. So after some sadness I decided give up the messy 2 litter’s bottles with liking and buy a real co2 system.
Yesterday I purchased a JBJ regulator with a solenoid and a Milwaukee CO2/PH controller actually I both the Kit at aquariumplant.com. I'm very excited to get it on the mail. Anyway my question is now what???
I found a place locally where I can buy the cylinder and refill it.
But I fill that I don't know enough to put everything together so I need some guidance.

How I set it up? What kind of settings should I have? What about the KH, I know that the PH controller will keep the PH leveled. But what about the KH how should I keep it stabilized?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-11-2005, 06:24 PM

PTrader: (1/100%)
I just set it up

Each piece comes with an instruction pamphlet....it is really straight forward, but:

1. Get a GH test kit, then go to www.rexgrigg.com (under the CO2 section) and find the GH/PH chart to determine what your PH meter should be set to in order to keep you CO2 ppm to 15-30.

2. Calibrate the PH sensor with the supplied 7.01 and 4.01 calibration fluid.

3. Somehow affix the PH sensor into your tank. Do not fully sumberge the sensor- only the bottom 3rd of the sensor is water proof.

4. Install the timer into your power outlet. I run a power strip off of the timer, so the whole power strip goes on/off based on the timer.