total noob -- needs lots of advice - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-14-2011, 07:59 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
total noob -- needs lots of advice

Hey everyone I am really hoping that you guys can help me out a lot here and put up with all my questions.

I had a 35g hexagonal tank that I attempted to plant a few months back. The tank totally failed. I think it had a lot to with the odd shape and getting enough light into a tank that was 24" high and only 18" wide, short of hanging metal halides above the tank I think it was doomed to start. My wife would really like to have a planted tank and I would really like to be successful this time.

The plan: I have a 55g tank that I'm in the process of shutting down. It was a cichlid tank but my showcase EBJD passed and now I would like to move the tank into the livingroom to fill the spot of the 35g hex, which I sold, and plant it.

Stuff I have: Eheim 2232 and 2236 canister filters that I would like to fit with diy spray bars, Eheim-Jager 250w heater, Hagen Natural Plant yeast based co2 system, and 32 lbs of Caribsea Eco Complete planted aquarium substrate.

Things I need help with:
1) Lighting. I'm stuck between two options. A 48" HOT5 dual bulb fixture which would be 108w, yeilding roughly 2.7wpg since I know the 55g hold exactly 40g of water after gravel and decor. My other option is to get a Marineland double bright led system it adds $150 to my start up budget but should save a lot of power, however, I don't know how many watts it actually produces and its for SW tanks (leds are 10k and actinic).