need advice for new 29g low tech & aquasoil and cycling questions - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 11-14-2011, 06:00 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (21/100%)
need advice for new 29g low tech & aquasoil and cycling questions

Hi everybody, first post. I’ve been hanging out as a guest for a bit now, but just decided to make the dive, join the community, and start my first planted tank. I’ve kept many different types of cichlid tanks for the last 10 years or so, but when my Oscar passed away a year ago…I broke everything down, sold all of my tanks, and left the hobby. I recently decided to start back again, but this time with a *peaceful* community tank with plants (which I’ve never done before). My focus this time around will be more around keeping a planted tank with just a minor emphasis on fish. I’ve never cared much about algae in tanks I’ve had in the past, but algae can’t kill rocks =P. I’m going to begin cycling a new 29g tank with aquasoil this week and had a few questions about the best way to approach it.

First the hardware…
29 gallon tank (30Lx12Wx18H), trying to do low light/low tech but dunno how realistic that is, haha
t5ho lights w/ 2x 24 watt bulbs with individual reflectors ~4” above tank top (may only use 1 bulb and lower lights or keep 2 bulbs and raise lights depending on how it goes) I ended up getting t5ho over t5no due to flexibility in case I decide to do CO2 later.
Eheim 2217 w/ inline heater – spray bar on top left side and intake on bottom right side
Ada aquasoil ‘new – multi type’ for substrate and one very large/branchy driftwood that will be on the right side of tank near intake

Aquascape ‘plan’
I’d like to have a very ‘simplistic’ look which I understand from past experience is easier said than done when it comes to achieving and maintaining…still can hope right?