Fluval Spec tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-11-2011, 04:13 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Fluval Spec tank

I just bought a little spec tank and am wondering if it is ok to put 2 fancy male guppies in it. I purchased a little heater for it as well. I'm new to aquariums so this is a learning experience for sure. I'll be putting the tank together today. I've been reading up on 'cycling' so hope I get it right! I also purchased a live plant (not sure what it's called) to put in right away. Any suggestions on fish, or will guppies be ok? It's a tiny little tank so I want to be sure to do this right. Thanks for any suggestions you can offer.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-13-2011, 02:30 AM
Planted Tank Obsessed

Might be a bit small for 2 guppies... they need 2 gallons minimum, which the spec is yes, but I'm not sure how much of the 2G is made up of the filter area in the back. You should be able to shove your heater into the space where the pump and flexible hose sits so you don't have to put it in your main tank area, I've done this on a couple specs and it works well and still keeps temperature even t/o the aquarium.

Some people here won't be too happy about you using live fish to cycle on the basis it is cruel and can be torturous to the fish (which is true I guess, can damage their gills for the long run) so another good way to do it is to just get your tank up and running and every other day add a pinch of flake food and let it sit in there and rot thus providing an ammonia source. However if you can get some filter media from someone with an established tank you can just shove it in beside the bio rings in the spec filter and with adding some flake food you should be able to be fully cycled within a week, depending on how much media you're going to be able to add.