New and confused - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-07-2005, 07:20 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
New and confused

Hello everybody, Im completely new to planted tanks and i can admit I have pretty much no idea whats going on
So i just wanted to get some opinions on what I can do.
I currently have a 25 gallon tank with a 15 wat 24" flouresent bulb that came with my hood (it says Phillips aqua glo on the bulb i think) and have 2 annubias and a couble java fern and some java moss....but I want to increase the amount of light.
Could I put a 20w or 30w bulb into a 15w socket like house lightbulbs or does the wattage have to match with this type of lighting?
I have read some of the upgrades I can buy but they seem preeeeetty expensive or too complicated are there anyother options I can do that are cheap and wont make my tank look like a science experiment?
Any help would be very nice. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-07-2005, 07:37 AM
Planted Tank Obsessed

No, different wattage of flourescent bulbs have different lengths. You cannot change bulbs like incandescent bulbs.

Depending on if you want low light plants (generally plants with darker greens), or light demanding plants, you should target for a total wattage of 50W or above for low light tank, OR, 100W or above for light demanding plants.

Even though total wattage is just a guideline, but even for low light plants, your lighting is still not enough.

If you decided to go with light demanding plants, besides lighting upgrade, you will also be needing CO2 injection and fertilization to help plants grow.

If you really are not a DIY kind of guy like me, then I would suggest you measure the length of the tank and go out buy a new light fixture that will fit your tank. But if you want to save $$$, you will have to do the upgrade yourself.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-07-2005, 07:46 AM
Planted Tank Obsessed