New To Planted Aquariums - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 10-27-2011, 04:17 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
New To Planted Aquariums

Hello, I am Ryan, I used to own and build reef aquariums for people. I started with freshwater but I never got into planted aquariums. I am now in my last year of college and am going to start a new aquarium in my appartment. Here's what I am starting with, a 29 gallon aquarium with the standard flourescent light that it comes with. I'll plan on getting a new filter and light for it as well. My idea is I would like a dark substrate, some driftwood, I would like a decent number of fish, and a good variety of plants including some "grass like" ground cover type of plants, prefferably begginer plants. I want the tank to be natural and clean. Any tips, ideas, or advice would be great! My questions are:

What light do I need for a 29 gallon aquarium?

What substrate should I get?

Are there any fish that I can't have? I mainly just want tetras, maybe guaramis, and guppies.

What filter will I need for a 29 gallon aquarium?

Will I need a CO2 system?

What supplements are needed?

Thanks so much in advance! Any help is appreciated. I'd like to have the tank up in about two months after a ton of research has been completed. Also, I have an 24G aquapod with a 100W Metal Halide on it, would that be a better tank to start with? Thanks again.

~Ryan
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 10-27-2011, 06:15 AM
Planted Member

PTrader: (1/100%)
I am quite new myself, I have done a lot of research for the new planted tank I am going to start.

If you plan on getting a new light, then you:

A) Get a light that gives you low WPG (Watts/Gallon) and won't need a CO2 system.
B) Get a light that gives you high WPG; can grow better plants, your plants grow much better, but you will need a CO2 system.
---