Help/Ideas All are welcome - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-07-2011, 07:48 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (1/100%)
Help/Ideas All are welcome

Hi,

I'm a newb (sort of) in the hobby as I'm setting up my first BIG tank (75G may not seem big but to me it is ginormous!) So I bought a tank and stand on Craigslist and I have it setup and been running for about 1.5 months. I'm just going to describe what I have done (later I will post some pics) and list my questions and areas of concern.

History:
Tank is a standard 75GAL 48x21x18 or something like that.... nothing weird shaped

Using Clay kitty liter for under Pool Filter Sand to add iron and such to the sand. I used about 30lbs of the kitty litter under 150lbs of sand. I have to power filters running: an Emperor 400 and a Aquaclear 30-60. I have 2 200 watt heaters that came with the tank (both are super cheapies but keep the temp steady at about 76F or whatever i can set) I have a nice piece of drift wood (almost 3ft long) and 3 nice sized rocks (brick sized stone) and some river stones for decorations.

Fish: a juvenile angel, 5 cherry barbs, 4 tiger barbs, 5 head and tail light tetra, 2 withe clouds and a Siamese white cloud minnow (as best as I can tell anyways). There is also an amano shrimp in there somewhere :-)

I've had 3 deaths so far: 1 juvenile angel, 1 white cloud, and 1 cherry barb

Plants: (MOST OF MY NAMES FOR THESE ARE WRONG WHEN I POST PICS IT WILL BECOME CLEAR)

2 Red Rotalla bunches (maybe 7 stems each) - doing relatively well, new leaves and such

6 jungle val - looked terrible when i got them but I got a deal and I was assure they are fairly hardy. They still look like they were ripped up and I don't see any new growth but they aren't falling apart either.

some mystery crypt(maybe) that is slowly dying as the leaves are shriveling and show signs of hair algae(dark green rough long strands).