question about using metal tank stands - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-17-2011, 03:00 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (23/100%)
question about using metal tank stands

I'm going to be starting a journal on the two 29s I bought at the Petco sale, but first I have a question;
I have an old - but perfectly sound - metal stand that was my dad's. I want to use it for sentimental reasons, and it's made for two 20L or 29s. I've never used a metal stand before, and I don't know if I'm supposed to put the tanks directly on the metal rim, or put plywood between the tanks & the stand. Also, on the right rear corner of the top tank, I can see a hairline of light between the tank & the stand. If I apply a light pressure by hand to the corner, the gap goes away completely (without raising the opposite corner - lol). Since the gravel will put much much more weight on it, will it be fine when filled?
Many thanks!
PS - the wood base is just the start of a box I'm making to raise the height of the thanks - the bottom tank was way to low to see well. I've only just started & was doing a dry run - don't pay attention to it! lol It won't be an open box...

http://[IMG]http://www.plantedtank.n....jpg[/IMG]

The Fraternity of Dirt # 7 - Daughter of the Dirt - Canon Club #018
Twin 29g Dirt Tanks on an Iron Stand - DIY 3D Backgrounds

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

The Behemoth - 125 dirt tank

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-17-2011, 03:05 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

let me try that again... ; )

post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-17-2011, 03:16 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (0/0%)
looks perfect