Ro? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 09-16-2011, 04:18 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Ro?

I am setting up a 240 gallon planted tank, this is by far the biggest tank I have set up yet. In the past I have always used RO water buffered with a bit of tap, however I am now concerned over how to make and store enough water to do a water change. How necisarry is RO? my water is here is extremely hard.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 09-16-2011, 04:20 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Forgot to mention that I want to keep shrimp and maybe a big school of some kind of tetra's in this tank.
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 09-16-2011, 04:26 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (2/100%)
It depends on your local tap water. For 99% of the people in this hobby it isn't necessary at all for plants or fish.

I am by no means an expert on shrimp, but shrimp like RCS and Amanos are bulletproof. As to high end CRS etc. maybe someone more knowledgeable can chime in.

post #4 of 25 (permalink) Old 09-16-2011, 04:26 PM
Fresh Fish Freak

PTrader: (70/100%)
How hard is "extremely hard"- pH, kH, and gH- wise?

With that size tank, a few schools of Rainbowfish might be much better options and work WITH your water parameters...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- Next meeting Monday, Oct 13, 2014 @ 7:15pm- See ya there!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #5 of 25 (permalink) Old 09-16-2011, 04:29 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (17/100%)
I'd have to think really hard before I used mainly RO in a tank that size. For my 90g I use about 80% RO and 20% tap and even that's pushing my comfort zone.
post #6 of 25 (permalink) Old 09-16-2011, 04:31 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower