First nano planted - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-13-2011, 03:09 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
First nano planted

Okay so I'm very new to this forum. As a matter a fact I'm new to keep actually planted aquariums. I have a 75 gallon south American cichlid tank at the head of my bed, lightly planted 55gal community tank and a 10 gal. I'm planing on a 2.5 or maybe a 5.5 planted tank but I've been confronted with a few problems. First one is I don't want to sPend 20$ on substrate if I'm only using a little bit of it. I'm only 16 and don't have cash burning through my pockets. Second is I don't know what to do for a filter or I'd I need one. Lastly if you have a suggestion for plants that would be great.
Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-13-2011, 04:49 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (2/100%)
2.5g Tank -- $10-15
5lb CaribSea Tahitian Moon Sand -- $4-8
Red Sea Nano Filter
-- $10-18
Fluval Edge PreFilter Sponge -- $3
DIY yeast co2 -- $5
Light -- $5-20

Just a small breakdown of what you could be looking at to spend. Low tech is the way to go IMO if you want to stay on the cheaper side. For plants, look at the swap&shop of our forum. You will find deals that are alot cheaper than what your petstore could offer. As for plants, here's a list of my favorite ones:
- Moss [Fissidens looks best and cleanest IMO]
- Java fern [trident, philippine, windelov]
- Crypts
- Blyxa
- Anubias nana

Blyxa and depending on what crypt you get, are the most demanding out of the list. The rest are your typical low tech tank list.

Currently out of the hobby
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Forum lurking every now and then
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-13-2011, 04:54 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (14/100%)