First Planted Tank - Need Input - Pics Included - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-05-2011, 10:24 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
First Planted Tank - Need Input - Pics Included

I am completely new to planted aquariums as well as aquariums in general. I am using natural gravel as a substrate. Fertilizer and carbon supplements are also being added to the tank.

How much time should elapse before I add fish? What can I do to help these plants grow? Is there anything wrong with the setup?

Also, I am clueless as to the identity of these plants. Any help with identification would be greatly appreciated!

The tank is 20 gallons. I am using an AquaClear Powerfilter 50 and a 10 watt bulb.

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0045.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	65.4 KB
ID:	34523  

Name:	IMAG0049.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	38.6 KB
ID:	34524  

Name:	IMAG0048.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	40.1 KB
ID:	34525  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-05-2011, 11:09 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (0/0%)
you need to fully cycle your tank before adding fauna, google search 'fishless cycle' as you dont really have enough plants for a planted cycle.

Just Plantin' and prayin'

55g Bow front

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

900x750x450 optiwhite

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-05-2011, 11:38 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (3/100%)
not sure of the plants you are using but
Im assuming an incandescent 10W bulb....so i dont think you have enough light either

Fraternity, Inc. #33

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-06-2011, 12:18 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (6/100%)
I doubt the plants will grow well in that gravel.
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-06-2011, 09:55 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast