LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-03-2011, 02:25 PM Thread Starter
TAN
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Plant recommendation

Hello,

I am new in this hobby.

Three months ago I purchased a 20 gallon high tank from a local pet store.

My tank looked exactly like this when I bought it.

I am keeping a few swordtails in it.

Last month, I decided that I do not like the look of the plastic plant, and decided to replace it with real plants.

The light is 2x24 watt. 1 blue and 1 white PL light. So I think it should be bright enough.

The problem is I have coral sand substrate. And from what I read, this is not a good substrate for the planted tank.

But I decided to try it anyway. I started with Java Fern and Anacharis 1 month ago. So far they have been doing fine.

Last week, I put in Corkscrew Vallisneria and Ludwigia (not sure which species). Ludwigia is pretty much dead, and vallisneria is struggling, but may pull through.

Now, I am eyeing for the sagittaria subulata, and ludwigia repens. And perhaps hornwort because I heard that this grow fast, even in hard water.
I am also thinking about attaching java moss to that white rock.

Do you think I have a chance to keep these plants alive ? Please advice me on this. Thank you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-03-2011, 02:46 PM
Wannabe Guru

Send a message via Skype™ to ValMM
You could try anacharis, it grows really fast. If it melts, it may grow back. Mine did for sure.

My roommate says I'll die by giant turtle.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-03-2011, 03:52 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (8/100%)
are you fertilizing at all?

Sump Pimp #7

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-03-2011, 04:00 PM Thread Starter
TAN
Algae Grower