Plant Trimming, Fertilizer and CO2 quesions... - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-01-2011, 11:45 PM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (3/100%)
Thumbs down Plant Trimming, Fertilizer and CO2 quesions...

Hello Planted Tank. I have a question that I am hoping someone can help me with. I am relatively new to planted tanks, and I have a handful of locally available plants in a 38g tank. So far I have the following:

Hygrophila Difformis
Hygrophila Corymbosa (Kompakt)
Amazon Sword
Argentina Sword
Umbrella Plant

I acquired all of these plants at a local Petco, and I got them all in the tubes because some of the plants in their plant tank at the store had snails. Several of the Amazon Sword and all of my Hygrophila Difformis stems have at least a few dead leaves on them, mostly near the bottom of the plants. Should I trim off the leaves that look 'dead' or should I leave them on and wait to see what happens? I am not sure if they will rejuvenate over time, and I am also not sure if the dead leaves in the tank will alter my water parameters significantly.

Right now this tank is lightly planted, with only a few of each type of plant in it. Will these plants need fertilizers at this stocking level and what should I use? I did purchase a Jungle Product called "Fertilizer 0-0-5 Water Conditioner, which was the ONLY plant care product I found when I got my plants. I have been dosing with this once per week. What fertilizer supplements can anyone recommend for this tank? (My current fish stocking is: 10 Glowlight Tetras, 2 German Blue Rams, 2 Bronze Cories, and 1 Dojo Loach)

Last question: I was given a C02 tank (6 lbs) and an Aqua Medic regulater w/out solenoid by a friend who no longer needs them for a calcium reactor. Right now I just have the tank and the regulator. What would I need to get a basic CO2 setup going in this tank?

Thanks in advance for your replies!

I even have duckweed in my water bong!