Under Gravel Filtration - The Planted Tank Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Deanna
  • 1 Post By Bunsen Honeydew

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-02-2020, 11:16 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Under Gravel Filtration

Hi everyone! So I'm fairly new to keeping fish. My question is if I have under gravel filtration and a rhyzomat plus gravel on top, is the under gravel filtration still effective? I also have a MarineLand Penguin 350 I'll be using at the same time.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-03-2020, 01:41 AM
Algae Grower

If you're using a powerhead on the undergravel, it may be all you need. It depends on how small the tank is, what fishload you're stocking in it, and if you are planting in the rhyzomat.
Give us some more tank/plan info and others more experienced who keep the same type of tank may chime in.
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-03-2020, 02:00 AM
Planted Tank Guru

My advice is to not use an under-gravel filter, particularly if you have a planted tank. With a planted tank, it is best to leave the substrate alone and allow the plants to access the nutrient accumulation. Although some deep-vacuum their planted tank substrates regularly, I don’t and there is much support for not doing it in a planted tank. A light surface-only vacuum is the most that should be done, in a planted tank, and I don’t even do that. Instead I ensure a good sweep of the surface via circulation. There are situations that do require deep cleaning when certain problems appear.