Water turning brown overnight? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-13-2020, 07:56 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Water turning brown overnight?

Hello everyone,

I'm fairly new to FWP tanks, I was a long time reef keeper. I setup a low tech rank a long time ago and it did alright. Now I'm back with a high tech, and I'm experiencing something unexpected.

When I wake u in the morning my tank water is brownish, but still clear. After a couple of hours of CO2 and light it becomes more clear. The filter runs 24/7, just the lights and CO2 turn off. The tank has been cycling since 8/26, ammonia, nitrite and nitrates are 0, ph is 6.6.

Tank specs:
17g lifeguard rimless
Eheim classic 250
Hydor 200w inline heater
10# CO2 tank
CO2art inline diffuser
Twinstar 450 Light

Ohko dragon stone
Seachem fluorite
Ada aquasoil
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20200813_122226_1597348550331.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	136.7 KB
ID:	901973  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20200806_131936_1597348560921.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	210.9 KB
ID:	901975  

Drew

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-13-2020, 11:00 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

I had this problem when I was using aquasoil with RO water and wasn't remineralizing as much as I thought I was.

However, my theory was that the extra low ph due to lpw gh/kh let the tannins come out. You're saying adding co2 helps, which lowers the ph.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-13-2020, 11:56 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (2/100%)