fishless cycle dosing ammonia with nitrite spike - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-03-2020, 08:17 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
fishless cycle dosing ammonia with nitrite spike

Hello fellow hobbyists

I am a newbie to this hobby, and have started this journey with a 60 Liter FW tank. I plan to make it a heavily planted betta tank. Hereís what I have so far:

- 50x35x35cm tank
- Tropica aqua soil 9 Liters
- 30cm piece of driftwood (soaked for 2 weeks prior to 16th July, and I poured boiling water over it for about 5 minutes to sterilize it)
- About 5kg of rocks
- Tidal 35 filter, with Matrix and some crushed coral in the filter (because driftwood was reducing pH)
- LED Lighting strip, but it has been off all along

As of now, I am performing a fishless cycle since 16th July with the above setup by adding liquid ammonia, and API Quick Start. Dosing of ammonia was at max 3ppm. Iím using the API test kits to measure water parameters.

As of yesterday, a 2ppm dose of ammonia disappears within 24hours (maybe faster, but I only test every 24hrs). pH of the tank is between 6.8 to 7.0. Nitrates have been elevated since day 1 at about 40ppm to 80ppm, but I believe this is due to the aqua soil. No water changes have been performed, only water top ups to maintain the water level.

I have seen Nitrites steadily increase over the last 4 days, and now they are roughly between 2ppm and 3ppm. I understand that having Nitrites above 5ppm could stall the 2nd phase of the cycle.