Newbie - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 08-02-2020, 03:14 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)

Hey guys so I’ve been keeping aquariums for 10 years but am a total newb when it comes to planted tanks. So I set up a 9 gallon fluval flex with a fluval nano led plant light and seachem fluorite black. Stocked it with Anubis nana java fern rosette sword and s repens. I was gonna do more research but wife had already purchased plants and I didn’t want to disappoint her. Anyway is this a good setup I’m not running co2 and she also bought fluval gro + fertilizer how do I use that? Thanks for any advice.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 08-06-2020, 05:17 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (17/100%)
Seeing as no one publicly responded, I can give it a go.

I think that sounds like a nice little tank! The only plant of the list you mentioned I think might struggle is the staurogyne repens (though I'm not very familiar with the sword). I know they can be grown in low tech, but my impression was they like higher light and CO2. So they may grow, just might stretch out more vertically than they otherwise would with different conditions. In general anubias, java fern, and mosses are really great starter plants as they're slow growing and don't demand too much. If you are on the hunt for a stem plant there's plenty of rotala species that can tolerate low tech setups like rotala rotundafolia. Keep in mind these will probably be green, not red like many species can be. I know there are plenty of other plants as well, but I mostly have had high tech setups so am less familiar with them.