• 1 Post By HairyNoseWombat
  • 1 Post By DeathFromBelow

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-19-2020, 02:03 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
Should I add CO2?

Hi

I am thinking of getting CO2 and going a bit more high tech.

My current set up

Yes yes I know it needs a prune.

Light.... Beamworks Viva grow.

Substrate..... Gravel.

Ferts... Seachem flourish comprehensive for the planted tank 1 milliliter 2 times a week.
Seachem root tabs, there are 15 in there.

PH..... 7.2
Ammonia....0
Nitrite.... 0
Nitrate....0

No idea about the rest

Stocking...... 1 Giant Betta, 1 Mystery snail, Rams horns and Malaysian Trumpet snails.

Ideas and advice welcome.

Lord and master of the tank
ipkiss likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-20-2020, 02:00 AM
Algae Grower

I'm relatively new to this hobby but I think you should go for it. You could also dose Flourish Excel (liquid carbon).

With CO2 you'll have faster growth and you could add more difficult plant into your tank.

You'll be less prone to algea issues also.

If you add CO2, buy a KH tester and measure/control it. It will be more important than you're pH. CO2 in water form acid. The KH will act like a buffer to avoid the pH to swing up and down.

Be careful if you want to go high tech, you'll always want more haha! I first started to add CO2 and now I completely change my aquarium (light upgrade, substrate upgrade, plenty of ferts).
HairyNoseWombat likes this.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-20-2020, 06:52 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (4/100%)
@HairyNoseWombat, what are you unhappy with? just curious. new plants species that you want to add? fuller growth?

I see a pretty good job for not already having CO2! So kudos for that! For sure I never got close to that without it.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.