Hello from a new member! - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By RLee

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-28-2020, 12:26 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Cool Hello from a new member!

Hello All!

I'd like to introduce myself! You can call me yello, and I have had fish tanks since I was 5 years old. I currently have a 75, 56, 20L, 10x2, and three 2.5's. Because I rent I cant go over 75 gallons sadly. My dream is to one day have tanks over 100 gallons. My husband is active duty so I can only have either the 75 or 56 going at any one time depending on which one the landlord says I can have. Well, we are being PCS to GA in the fall (unless coronavirus keeps troop movement at a standstill) and i would like to start the adventure there with a planted tank!

even though I have had tanks basically my whole life, I feel like I'm a novice. I'd like to up my game to a planted aquarium. Iv'e never tried it, and i want to! Thank you for helping me learn! I'll be quiet for a few months as I read and search the forums for the basics, such as lighting, substrate, etc. Once I get to GA and start setting up, I'm sure ill have many questions!

If you have any articles or books you like, please post them so I can get started! Should I start small with my 20L or start big with my 75? Thankyou!

-yello
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-28-2020, 01:20 PM
Algae Grower

Hi yello and welcome! And thank your husband for his service! *Salute*

You'd like your future tanks to be high tech or low tech?

And what kind of creatures you intend to keep?

It's good to start researching now and know what you'll need later on so you can start preparing and get going once you've settled down

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-28-2020, 06:18 PM Thread Starter

Well, To be honest, I did not know there was a low tech or a high tech way. Which would be easier for someone to start out doing?