Help, nano walstad, PH keeps rising, Betta dying - The Planted Tank Forum
 2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-22-2020, 11:40 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Help, nano walstad, PH keeps rising, Betta dying

G'Day,

I have been running a low tech nano walstad for 4 months, plants were pearling all day, shrimp and snails reproducing and happy fish. My PH has always been high but I ignore it.
I put a Betta in 1 month ago, lately some of my plants have been converting to their emerged state and have stunted growth. Then my betta got very sick. With some research and I
now believe the illness to be high PH related, it was off the charts which is weird because I get 7 out of the tap and virtually zero hardness. I am treating the Betta in a hospital tank (day 3) but it
just lays on floor and sometimes has a fit, still eats though. I lowered the PH in the nano with a mixture of PH down and boiled almond leaves, every time I get it to 7 it starts rising again. About 0.3 per 15 hours. The Bumblebee Goby, shrimp and snails are still fine. Anyone know why the PH keeps rising?

Details:
Current Kh - 5
Current PH - 7.3
Hardscape - Seiryu Stone
Potting mix - Cheap generic seived
Gravel - locally procured, made from same stone and location as the stuff in my community tank which always sits at 7.3 PH (vineger tested)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-22-2020, 12:45 PM
Algae Grower

How often are you doing water changes

Sent from my KYOCERA-E6820 using Tapatalk
minorhero likes this.
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 04-22-2020, 03:49 PM
Wannabe Guru

How often are you doing water changes?

Seiryu stone is just weathered limestone and will raise PH. For most planted tanks its not a big deal because we do regular water changes so it keeps in check. Some folks follow a different water change philosphy for walstad tanks and just don't do them. So in that situation rocks that leech become a big issue.