Did I restart my cycling process? - The Planted Tank Forum
 6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-14-2020, 08:01 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Did I restart my cycling process?

Hey guys, I’m new to the hobby and have started a 10 gallon planted tank a few days ago. It’s one of those Top Fin 10 gallon kits with the mystery LED lights. Treated my water before adding plants, and I have a few java fern, a green cacomba, a few Anubias and an amazon sword. I was at the pet store today and saw some Nutrafin Cycle, read that it was supposed to help create some beneficial bacteria and stuff, so I purchased it and dosed the 25ml it told me to. But I’ve since heard that products like that essentially kill naturally occurring beneficial bacteria, so will my cycling process restart now if I stop using the product? I’m a little confused as to what my next step should be
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-14-2020, 08:27 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (17/100%)
Well...this product is supposed to contain the bacteria that is needed to cycle a tank. So in theory, by adding it to your tank, you are adding a bunch of the bacteria that usually takes time to naturally populate. So, if it is the same thing as what naturally grows in your tank during a cycle, I don't know why the bottle stuff would kill the other bacteria. Besides, if you just started a few days ago, there would not be much bacteria in your tank anyways.