Advice for my first tank - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By oppenheimer80

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-04-2020, 12:19 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
So I'm new to the aquarium world but I'm going to try my hand at it. I've ordered most everything for my setup but with everything running slow these days I have some time until everything arrives. Looking for tips and advice to get things going. Here's my setup:
-17 Gal Lifegard rimless tank
-Eheim 2213 canister w/ glass Lily pipe and protein skimmer input
-24/7 Planted+ LED
-ADA Amazonia substrate
-Seiryu rock and bonsai tree hardscape
I'm thinking monte carlo and dwarf hair grass carpet. I'm planning on having low tech tank.

A few questions I have right off the bat. What media to use in the filter? Are there any good sources for what water parameters should look like? I have a lot of iron in my well water. Should I try a dry start? Where do I hang the inlet and outlet for the filter?

Last edited by Darkblade48; 04-04-2020 at 08:17 AM. Reason: Please use the edit function for back to back posts to keep threads cleaner
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-04-2020, 12:56 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (1/100%)
I use Matrix as my bio filter material , but you can use anything from ceramic noodles to scrubbies . As far as the best source for info you are on it . Just use the search function .

My wife says if I get one more aquarium she is going to leave me . I sure am going to miss her fried chicken .
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-04-2020, 01:05 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leeatl View Post
As far as the best source for info you are on it . Just use the search function .
This forum is my go to place for information. Haven't tried the search function yet. I was wondering if there is maybe a reference table out there with water parameter ranges.

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-04-2020, 01:09 AM