Do I overstock my planted tank? - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By n25philly

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-28-2020, 11:03 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Do I overstock my planted tank?

G'day, I am a newbie to fish keeping and need some advise from the gurus on this forum. I have a fully cycled 49 Gallon fish tank (1.2m wide) and my fish are:
-13 lamb chop rasboras
-13 neon tetras
-9 cory habrosus
-7 Celestial pearl danios
-4 otocinclus
-15 cherry shrimps

I believe I over filtered my tank as I have fluval external canister 307 and aqua clear view 500.
How often and how much should I do a water change? Can I add couple nerite snails in the tank? Also, do I need to add more plants? Thanks in advance.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fishtank.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	217.4 KB
ID:	895493  

Last edited by Fishy69; 03-28-2020 at 11:16 AM. Reason: adding more questions
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-28-2020, 02:04 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (4/100%)
As far as your tank being able to handle that many fish , I dont think you are overstocked at all. I also think it would be safe to add a couple nerite snails.
You are getting a 5x an hour overall filter rate. Not too much at all.
I change water in all my tanks weekly. The volume and frequency depending on what I keep and the bioload. If you will be doing EI dosing, Im pretty sure the standard is 50% weekly. If I had your tank, and not dosing EI, I would do at least 25% weekly water changes. It is beneficial for the fish.
Not sure if you are doing Co2. but, if you are, a carpeting plant would look great in the foreground. If not, some low-growing crypts.

PS: Welcome to TPT (waves)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Amy
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-28-2020, 02:54 PM
Wannabe Guru