Beginner Planted Tank & Cycling - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 02-14-2020, 12:59 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Beginner Planted Tank & Cycling

Good morning all,
Newbie here trying to get the tank cycled. After 2 weeks of tank activity in the way of fish and some plants, I’m getting 0.0 on all tests for Ammonia, Nitrites, and Nitrates. I hope that I’m at a point where I just needto wait it out and it will eventually happen, but I would love to get some reassurance to make sure I’m not missing anything. Fish seem active & healthy, and the plants seem to be doing okay.

The goal is for a peaceful community tank with low light plants and small beginner fish. Sorry for the information overload below, but when it comes to trouble-shooting, usually more is better.

Appreciate your help.
Fred

The current Set-Up…
-36 Gal Bow-Front tank
-Marineland Penguin 350 – 75 Gal HOB Filter
-Heater (holding at 78 degrees)
-247 Planted+ LED Light
- Sand Substrate (Aquarium Sand)
-3 large pieces of driftwood (boiled for several days, but will leach tannins FOREVER)

Mechanical Filtration Details…
Penguin 350 has 2 media chambers. Each chamber has the following…
-Coarse filtersponge
-Fine filter pad
-Bag of Seachem Purigen (primarily for the driftwood tannins)
-Bag of Fluval BioRings

Plants…
-2/7/20 Added 8 or9 plants
-All low-light,beginner plants.
-On most days the light is set to cycle through its 24/7day/night setting
-Fertilizer includes a single root-tab near each plant, liquid fertilizer added to thewater column (1-2 times per week), and 3 ml Seachem Flourish Excel (liquid carbon additive) (usually added daily with an eye-dropper)

Tank Stocking…
-2/2/20 Added Tetra Safe Start Plus Aquarium Bacteria
-2/2/20 Added 2 White Skirt Tetras (Tank initially filledwith water on 1/25/20)
-2/8/20 Added 4 Rummy Nose Tetras
-2/8/20 Added 1 Siamese Algae Eater

Water Tests…
-API Master Test Kit – Testing every-other day.