I'm new and could use some help please - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By ShoeGal

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-06-2020, 06:08 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
I'm new and could use some help please

Hi there,

I'm new to freshwater and I have a 15g Fluval Flex planted tank, please could you take a look below and see if you think my cycling readings look ok, I've been dosing with DrTims ammonium chloride, now my nitrites are at 0, shouldn't my ammonia be 0?

My plants also don't look very healthy (in my opinion at least), I don't know if it's just an algae bloom causing it or I've done something wrong but you can see in my images some of the leaves look like they have died, like the one on the left. I have had a little growth but there is definitely some algae in here at the moment which I'm hoping is not a concern.

Tank set up with plants added on 15th Jan this year
I used JBL ProScape PlantSoil.
No water changes yet (Should I do one during cycling?)
No extra filtration added apart from the standard filtration media that came with the Fluval Flex
Temperature - 24C/75F

Here is a picture of the day I set it up on 15th Jan (left) and one from today (6th Feb) on the right, the bacopa monnieri looks like it's grown a bit

Here is my test results so far

I'd be really grateful if you think everything looks okay or if not, any recommendations for help with cycling, if I should do a water change etc. I'm going to top it up a bit tomorrow, thank you in advance!

Krissi
Blue Ridge Reef likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-12-2020, 01:39 AM
Planted Member

I’d guess your tank has cycled by now, but you’re adding a lot of ammonia pretty regularly, so that may be keeping your numbers up.