Biomass - At Capacity or Not? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-17-2019, 09:06 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Biomass - At Capacity or Not?

How can you tell when your tank is at it's Biomass capacity? Do the weekly nitrate levels tell us this?

I have a hunch I'm there due to the fact that I'm having a problem with high nitrates despite a heavy population of plants. I inject CO2 etc. so it's pretty lush! I'm starting my second year with a planted tank, so I'm still learning.

Rather than get into a description of whats in there, I've posted a picture of my 40 gallon breeder and will gladly answer whatever questions are posted to help me determine if I am at capacity, if necessary.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	40 Gallon Breeder.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	305.3 KB
ID:	889641  

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-17-2019, 09:59 PM
Obsessed? Maybe

PTrader: (492/100%)
What kind and how much livestock do you have?

What and how much do you dose in terms of fertilizer?

How much and how frequently do you feed?

I've had heavily stocked tanks with tons of plants that required daily nitrate dosing in order to keep plants going. So it really depends upon multiple factors.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|

post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-17-2019, 11:34 PM
Wannabe Guru

Iím counting 21 Columbian tetra?

Also what is filtration and how much and what kind of media is in it?

post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-17-2019, 11:52 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

First of all, thank you for the replies!

There's probably more than 35 Tetra in there, including 4 new hatchlngs, three Amano Shrimp, two Ottos, two Plecos and one Bolivian Ram!