HELP! Tank "reset" and advice needed! - The Planted Tank Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By somewhatshocked
  • 1 Post By Deanna

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-18-2019, 04:20 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Unhappy HELP! Tank "reset" and advice needed!

Hi all,

I've had a rough year or so with my tank and feel like I'm at a crossroads. Hoping to get some advice here as I'm still a relative newbie to planted tanks.

I have a 40g breeder that's been running about 3 years. Its a community tank with cardinal and rummy nose tetras, corys, otos and 2 small plecos. The tank has a lot of driftwood in it and has gone from heavily(ish) to lightly planted.

I had to treat the entire aquarium for a disease about a year ago that killed off most of my plants and has never really recovered. I've had algae outbreaks (including black hair) and just haven't found a balance since.

Current setup:
Finnex planted+ 24/7, high setting on a timer 7 hours/day
Seachem root tabs
Eheim 2217
Black diamond blasting sand substrate

I also have a GLA pressurized CO2 setup which I began using briefly until the previously mentioned incident, but which isn't currentlty running. I was also using liquid ferts (seachem brand) but haven't been using these recently.

Current plant situ:
2 x amazon sword plants, both of which aren't too healthy and have been struggling recently
2x dwarf lily, both not doing great and havent sent up leaves for some time
CRYPTOCORYNE WENDTII RED, not doing great and have some algae - tempted to pull all of these out.
Java fern - a couple of survivors, removed most due to algae

A number of questions here:
1) Is the finnex planted+ sufficient lighting? I currently have it approx 4 inches above tank, no hood
2) Can I re-introduce the CO2 slowly even with a small number of plants?
3) Should I add lots of plants immediately or slowly being introducing plants?
4) Is there an "all in one" liquid fert I can use?