Filter too strong for substrate? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-08-2019, 01:34 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question Filter too strong for substrate?

Hello! I am new to live plants (I hadn't added them in my tank yet) and sand when it comes to aquariums. Today, I bought an Aqueon 10 gal starter kit with a Quiet Flow filter which is a hang on the back. https://www.aqueon.com/products/filt...-power-filters
Well, first I put the sand in and put a bowl on top. Then I slowly poured water into the bowl until it overflowed onto the sand and i kept doing that until the water level was over the bowl. Then I continue to slowly pour the rest of the water in. The water stirred up the sand a little bit which made the water kinda murky. I put my water conditioner in and turn on the filter. It seemed to make the tank extremely cloudy and move the sand a lot, especially in the center. I left it going on for a few hours and it never got better.
Another note is that the filter had a loud hum than it was advertised. Maybe I should put more water in to cover more of the filter (the most important parts are already submerged in water)? Maybe the little waterfall where the water comes out of the filter is too high up from the tank's water level?
I'm not really knowledgeable on filters so any info would be great! I am also brand new on using sand and live plants as well. What can I do to the filter to help this problem? Are there any other things I could do? Also, what should I do with the water that has so much sand and perhaps other stuff floating around making it cloudy/murky?
I have heard of prefilter sponges but I read up on them and got mixed reviews but I don't know if this will fix the problem.
Sorry for such a long post but I still want to learn as much as I can! Thank you for taking your time to read this and answer!