No Nitrites, No Nitrates but .25 Amonia Help? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 05:52 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
No Nitrites, No Nitrates but .25 Amonia Help?

Hi I'm new to keeping a planted aquarium, I went through a 3 month cycle. Got everything down to 0. Planted my aquarium waited few weeks to let them settle in. Then got cherry shrimp. ( Started with 20 ) I will be adding co2 as it is heavily planted. Where have I gone wrong? Iv done my best to make sure I'm doing everything as best I can

My tank is

125litre

Ammonia .25
Nitrates 0
Nitrites 0
GH 8od
KH. 6od
pH. 6.5

I use ferts seachem - there recommend amount for size of tank - if not a little under

Potassium
Advance
Excel
Prime
Flourish

I do a 15-20% water change every week. I do vacuum gravel

Any and all advice is welcome
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0059_1563124580651_1563558682341.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	312.7 KB
ID:	884405  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 05:57 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

I have had a few deaths, like 5-6 shrimp but I have between 5-7 burried females atm. Also sorry the tank has been up and running for 5 weeks
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 06:43 PM
Wannabe Guru

So your nitrates should not be zero. Obviously with just 20 shrimp in there you won't be generating enough poop to have nitrogen from livestock. You should consider adding nitrogen to the mix.

This looks to me like a fluval flex tank? If so I assume you are using their normal filter? Are you using carbon by any chance?

Its hard to tell from the picture but it looks like you have a gravel cap. What exactly are you capping?

What method did you use to cycle the tank?

Sorry for all the questions but need some more information before can give you advice on what direction to go.

post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 07:47 PM Thread Starter