Planted Tank Beginner and Algae Issues - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-14-2019, 06:33 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
I have kept various aquariums over the years including reef tanks and for the most part they did pretty well. This is my first time with a planted tank. I have been researching quite a bit but I still have a lot to learn. I am having problems with green algae on the leaves of almost all my plants with one exception, a grass that grows tall enough to emerge. Only one or two leaves below the water have the algae. I have temple compacta which is growing fairly well, two anubias frazieri, and several java ferns. I had an led light that was the equivalent of a pair of normal output t8s for a few weeks before upgrading to the beamswork da 6500k. The tank is a 45 gallon which I believe is 22 inches or so deep. I have a dirted substrate with larger rock as a cap. I do intend to have a sand cap eventually or smaller gravel. I have 8 tiger barbs, 4 platies, some pest snails which I am keeping under control and they eat algae on the sides of the glass more than on the plants.