Help! Plumbing issues. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-26-2019, 05:02 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (2/100%)
Help! Plumbing issues.

I posted this in my tank journal but as of yet have gotten no answers. If anyone wants to see more of this set up to get a better idea of my problem here it is:

https://www.plantedtank.net/forums/1...ire-crabs.html

I have a paludarium with ~ 25 gallons of water in the main tank and ~7 gallons in the sump. The way it is designed I had to drill the tank to plumb the outflow. The outflow is gravity fed. The inflow travels ~ 4' and feeds a water fall. This is my first attempt with a sump / DIY plumbing.

[IMG][/IMG]

I wanted the water to turn over ~ 3-4 times an hour. With this in mind and not wanting crazy flow I went with a 1/2" bulk head (I really wish I just went bigger.) I went with braided vinyl tubing for the plumbing with barbed connections for ease. I have a danner mag 3 for the inflow and the return line is split with a tee one part goes into the sump the other into the water feature. These both have valves to adjust flow. Here is the original plumbing for the bulk head.

[IMG][/IMG]

I was getting a lot of the sucking noise so I switched the plumbing from the bulk head to allow air in that way (kinda like a durso) this eliminated the sucking noise.

[IMG][/IMG]